The Totoro’s branch

From woodblock prints to anime. Japanese inspiration for ‘Samurai vs Ninja’, my series with Nick Falk, is everywhere. One of my favourite anime artists the master himself, Hayao Miyazaki.my-neighbor-totoro-branch

In this illustration (right) from the Curse of the Oni (page 71), you can see how I have borrowed from Miyazaki to give Kaba –sama a branch to sit on. The image on the left, as you will see is from “My Neighbour Totoro”. One of the movies I have watched many times with my son. I thought doing this is a nice way to pay homage to Miyazaki, as true master.

For more information on Miyazaki see:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hayao_Miyazaki

Leave a Reply

